50 Things…

After venting my frustrations on Friday (not quite successfully, I might add), I made a second trip to the library – this time to the local branch that’s just down the street.  I popped in to pick up a few hold items that were waiting for me, but of course took a quick wander through the stacks while I was there.

On an impulse I hopped over to the “how to organize your house/relationship/family/life” section, and pulled out a book called Throw Out Fifty Things – Clear the Clutter, Find Your Life.  I’m only a few chapters in, but the overall theory is that the process of getting rid of unwanted and unnecessary items in your house will help you clear out and let go of all those negative ideas and feelings that are holding you back in life. Like that pair of slightly-too-tight jeans you bought last spring, convinced that in no time you’d be able to lose a few extra pounds so you could fit into them (I know its not just me who does this…).  I know this is one of those ‘quick fix’ books, the sales of which – despite its good underlying message – probably benefit its author more than any of the people who read it.  But at the same time, I’m going to try it – I’m a sucker for a good quick-fix solution, and at least I can say I didn’t waste any money on it if it doesn’t work!

So here we go, the first of the Fifty Things I’m clearing out (don’t you think the capitals make it sound more impressive?). This ongoing list will include things from both home and work, since parts of my office at work have clearly just become storage for things that should be at home, but don’t have a place to go (yet!).  Multiples of the same thing only count as one item, so this may be harder than I think… 😉20150118_160918

  1. Vintage knitting patterns that have been collecting at the store, but which I know I’m not ever going to use. (The leftovers are available at the store if you happen to be interested… I will donate/recycle them at the end of January).
  2. Extra mugs and cups from the store. Inevitably, everyone eventually brings in their own personal favourite mug to use, so the ‘communal use’ ones become redundant.
  3. Old paper napkins that have long since fallen out of their wrappers. I know these are still technically useable, but somehow I find them a little… ew. Recycle bin it is, then.
  4. Old Christmas cards. As a crafty person, I have a bad habit of holding on to things with the idea that they could be re-purposed into a new craft at some later date. I think this is the kind of thinking that eventually turns a person into a hoarder.

That’s it for today, I think. I am technically at work, after all. 🙂

eta: a photo!

Leave a Reply

